True friends

It doesn’t matter how therapeutic I find writing, it still doesn’t compare to thrashing it out with a good friend over a glass of wine. I am lucky enough to have a friend I can rely on no matter what. She knows me well; she can read me like a book – no pun intended!! She doesn’t judge, she doesn’t tell me what to do; she just listens and on many occasions has helped me see things a little clearer. She was the first person I confided in when I started writing, and has been right there with me from the beginning and was determined I wasn’t going to give up when I almost did. She was my first reader, she has listened to my crazy ideas – then edited them. She laughed out loud at one of those classic statements you make ‘if I tell you something will you promise not to laugh?’ Then she realized I was serious, I really had written the first 5 chapters of the book. Once she’d read them, she wanted more so her gave her the story and sub plots; she even knew the ending… well she thought she knew the ending!

We are the same age, have similar backgrounds, very similar values and beliefs when it comes to our kids. We have the same interests, enjoy the same experiences and even trained to do the same job. We party together, holiday together and yes we have even slept together because that’s what girls do on weekends away shopping!
We are true friends.

Leave a Reply

