I am Yoshi!

We don’t do it very often, to be honest it’s only recently that the boys have gotten the hang of it, but when we do it’s always a lot of fun. I’m talking Wii games & in particular Mario karting. We’re all pretty bad at it, which I think is what makes it even more entertaining. I’m sure everyone who plays this game has their own character & a vehicle they prefer. Since the very first circuit hubby & I played, way back when are boys were just still babies, I have been the Yoshi on a Sugarscoot. Hubby has always been Donkey Kong, which if you ask me is a male ego thing, & his vehicle changes depending on whether the day of the week has a Y in it. At present the boys are Koopa Troopa & Toad.

We had promised last weekend we would play as a family, but unfortunately sick people, renovations & life in general got in the way. We finally sat down this evening to fulfill our promise. Believe it or not we have several levels that are still not unlocked – yes we are that bad – but oh how we laugh. I know that, like everything else in life, when you practice you get better, well not us. There was one circuit I passed someone going the opposite way which is definitely not right – turned out to be Donkey Kong & poor hubby had no idea how to turn himself around. All we could hear from the Poang behind us was ‘it’s just making me spin!’

It always seems to be the kids who know what to do, & believe me they don’t play on it that often. We pride ourselves in having brought our kids up not to have become TV or gaming addicts. In fact they watch very little TV compared to most kids, & playing on iPads or the Wii is heavily restricted & policed. I can see how easy it would be to automatically allow them to waste away their days in front of the screen, I have only done it when I’ve needed to get stuff done or if I’ve been unwell or suffering more pain than usual. Luckily I have kids that love things like Lego, books, & playing whatever imaginary game they’ve come up with that day. Of course they will often ask if they can watch TV or play on the Wii, that’s the best part, they know how to work it all & yet they still respect the privilege by not just going ahead & doing it.

This evening it was hubby’s idea to Mario Kart, the boys hadn’t actually asked, which made it even more fun because it was an unexpected treat for them – & I hope it continues to be that way for a long time yet.

 

 

Leave a Reply

