Type A Lego…

I might have mentioned before that I love Lego, & in October the Imagine Nation Lego tour is coming our way & guess who just bagged tickets? Hubby is away that weekend so just the 3 tickets purchased (that’s ok he hates Lego anyway) & there is a big crowd of friends from school going too. I’m really excited – I know that’s really sad, but I am currently building the Mini so I’m kinda in the zone. Not only that but the boys & I a having a major sort out of the obscene amount of Lego that they own.

It all started after they’d had a sleepover with school friends who have their Lego separated into colours. My type A tendencies have wanted a better system for ours for a long time, but boys being boys no matter what I tried it still ended up in one big bin all jumbled up. However, they were really taken by the colour coding so that’s what we are currently doing. I had an old set of plastic drawers from my early crafting days, you know type with castors & 2 sizes of drawer? Well, we easily filled that in no time & didn’t have enough drawers for all the colours – & there is NO WAY I could mix of course. So today while younger child was at soccer camp, elder child & I did the grocery shopping & found an even bigger version of these drawers in Canadian Superstore.

This afternoon the 3 of us sat (again) sorting it all out & thankfully we are nearly there. This has now prompted them to rebuild some of the sets that have long been broken up, like the police station & airport. However, when I walked in the younger child’s room this evening I was not happy to find that the booklets were all over the floor from him trying to find the one he needed. As you can imagine I have also tried several methods of keeping them tidy, but again to no avail. My type A’ness took over leading to the 3 of us (again) sitting down & sorting out all the booklets into categories. Then, we got Ziploc bags & a sharpie, bagged them all up, labeled them & put them back in the box the same box (which is also a Lego storage box, of course!). Hopefully now that they are older they will continue this type A’ness & keep everything a bit more organized… but then it’s possible that hell will freeze over first!

Leave a Reply

