Wine Vs. Wish list…

08.00 – Running club at 7am for elder child so only younger child to drop off.

08.15 – Muddy dog walk in the forest after a reasonable amount of rain.

09.15 – Stretching because I’m missing pilates today because the graduation ceremony at school means an early dismissal for the boys.

10.30 – I load up the car with the contents of hubby’s beer fridge. No I didn’t take it all to school, yesterday I did I large Costco shop with another grade 1 mum so I needed to empty the beer to accommodate the food. Why? Well, to give the grade 1’s a taster of things to come in their future years at the school, they are doing a sleepover in the gym tomorrow night. I volunteered to shop for the supplies.

I had left a few non-fridge items in the car overnight, then decided to rearrange it all this morning to accommodate all the fruit & veggie platters. I drove away at 10.50.

11.00 – I unload at school with the other mum & the teacher received it all to put it in the fridge. The parents who are cooking & preparing were picking up what they needed at the 11.30 pick up.

11.10 – We are done unloading & early for pick up so we go for coffee.

11.30 – Too busy chatting we are now late for pick up.

11.40 – I pick up 3 kids – my two & a classmate of younger child for a play date. His mum is part of the team cooking breakfast for the sleepover & she has had some difficulty establishing which part she is doing because the others don’t speak English. I told her it was probably best I take her a tray of sausages & the other can work it out between them.

11.45 – Text from the other mum ‘where is the pancake mix’. I tell her it was in the bag with the crackers, ketchup & maple syrup. Apparently there is no such bag.

11.50 – I pull up to our car port & there at the very back, where I unloaded all the bags to rearrange everything, is said bag!

I swear very loudly in my head because we have a guest, then text back, & then email the teacher apologizing. All is fine I can take it tomorrow morning when I drop off for choir.

PHEW!

12.00 – Drama with elder child because he is trying to take over the play date. I separate him completely & it is the end of the world of course, & not fair, & he is very sorry, & he will play nicely. I wasn’t buying any of it & I am the worst mother in the world because I have finally practiced what I preach!

12.30 – Lunch for 3 hungry boys.

13.00 – The 2 younger ones play happily. Elder child mopes around so I allow him into my craft room – under strict supervision.

14.15 – With guitars all packed up we set off to drop off the friend on the way to our lessons. I am not familiar with the area & drive past the house twice.

14.45 – Off to guitar lessons…

15.10 – My lesson is first & I totally nail the bar chords for the dreadful Jack Johnson song. I am doing so well he adds the final part of a clever strumming pattern & cancels out all my hard work.

16.00 – After the boys lessons we head home & I notice that the passenger wing mirror is hanging off – WTF!!!

18.30 – Younger child has been sporting a wide Mohawk for a while, but I promised he could have a skinny one for the summer but not until the end of school. With 2 weeks left & his camp tomorrow I gave in & took out the clippers…

He now looks like Mr. T & thinks it’s awesome (Hopefully with our principal retiring in 3 weeks he’ll not really care about it).

19.30 – Finally the boys are in bed & I really could murder a glass of something but it’s only day 4. When walking past the front door I remembered I hadn’t checked the mailbox today. You can see what I found & it was addressed to me – ME! I’ve already had a paw through it & made a wish list to take my mind off having wine!

 

Leave a Reply

