Me & my marvellous Mini!

06.15 – YAY! Another rested sleep, waking up to sunshine & no choir practice today.

08.15 – A slightly chilly but beautiful walk in the park with some of the usual suspects.

09.15 – Driving home & the flat tire light comes on! Our minivan is already waaaay overdue for it’s service & we need them to also change over the winter tires, but a flat in a winter tire is an expensive add-on – not happy.

09.30 – Back at base I inform hubby of the good news. I have some errands to run that are not close to home & I wasn’t sure I would get everything in my Mini. Apparently I should trust my own words & never underestimate a Mini – especially a soft top because you can pack even more into that bad boy!

10.00 – Phone call from teacher mum, her son is off school with the dreaded virus so won’t be going to hockey. I feel terrible that I have passed it onto to the poor wee guy. This also changes our child swapping plan so I call hubby, leave a message, text him, call again – still no answer.

12.30 – It would appear that you can fit 8 cases of wine, 9 plants, 8 window boxes & me in a Cooper S with room to spare. I call hubby again – no answer…

13.30 – Bar chords practice is going very badly, I hope my teacher will be patient with me on Thursday, especially after I tell him that I have spent most the past week on my deathbed.

14.20 – Finally speak to hubby who has only just received my text – GRRRR! & none of my calls – double GRRRR! We rearrange our plan & now I’m late for a meeting…

14.35 – The mum I’m meeting to finalize our staff appreciation breakfast arrangements for Friday is also late!

14.50 – We spend 5 minutes arranging the final details & 15 minutes of gossiping!!

15.10 – Normal civilized pick up – or so I thought. Elder child already knew he wasn’t being picked up by teacher mum so he was waiting for me, ready to pounce & request food to feed Boris (that is what we have now named his tapeworm!). Younger child hasn’t eaten all of his so I just hand elder child the food bag & tell him to vacuum up whatever he wants from there. Younger child then gets the third degree on the way home for not eating his lunch – AGAIN!!

16.15 – The same routine before field hockey applied but was just easier with just one child. Hubby arrives home & I leave to pick up elder child from Track & Field practice.

16.40 – Elder child informs me on the way home that the track meet tomorrow does not have transport to the field – I have to take him & his first event is at 9am. He is supposed to be there 45 minutes before… I am officially Wonder Woman as I will need to be in 2 places at once! I completely lose it in the car because this is the first that this has been mentioned – also my fault for not reading the email in full too but that’s a separate rant altogether.

17.00 – I have been given half an hours grace because he discovers that his first event is not until 9.30. We make an agreement that from now on he needs to check with us before signing up for these events – especially if there is no transport… yeah right, & I will bump into Henry Cavill tomorrow while looking fabulous after having my hair done!

18.00 – Friends again we play our guitars together…

19.00 – Now that I’m feeling much better I really need a glass of wine!

 

 

Leave a Reply

