The plaque exterminator…

I was one of those kids that got dragged to the dentist every 6 months for as long as I can remember. In fact, if you look at my British dental records the first entry is when I’m only about 18 months. This could have quite possibly scarred me for life, but in fact I don’t have a problem with going to the dentist more than 40 years later. One of the main reason I have been so vigilant over the years is the fact I still have two baby teeth. Yes that’s right, I was short changed by the tooth fairy & won’t ever let her forget it! It is always a good conversation opener whenever I meet someone who is a dentist because I still have ‘E’ on both sides which indicates some sort of congenital thing. I’ve had countless xrays to determine where the grown up teeth are, & the simple answer to that is that they just don’t exist.

Trip’s to our dentist here in Vancouver are made all the more enjoyable by the fact that the practice we attend is north facing with a stunning view of the mountains. We are currently experiencing record temperatures – 29 degrees in downtown Vancouver today – so the clear blue sky made it even more spectacular while the hygienist hacked away at my teeth. I was surprised to have someone knew today because over the last 10 years I can honestly say the same 2 people have attacked me. I didn’t have a problem with this new face until she seemed to have a complete disregard for the fact I was actually a living breathing human being that has sensitive teeth.

It didn’t matter how many times she made me jump, flinch, squeak, raise my eyebrows, she just carried on like it was more than her jobs worth to consider the comfort of the patient. And what is with the not talking to you for 20 minutes & then asking you a question when you have a mouth full of instruments? I’m used to friendly conversation that only requires a nod or an audible noise, not a full-blown verbal answer. Thankfully my dentist rescued me with some of his normal dentistry conversation & a considerate bedside manner. Clearly many years of dental practice means you can hold a one-sided conversation for days. The examination was over & done in minutes, but my suffering was not over as the hygienist from hell still had to subject me to polishing & fluoride.

Over an hour later I walked out with a drool shaped make up stain on my chin, bad chair hair, a bill for nearly 100 bucks (& that’s with insurance) & a free toothbrush that I’ll never use.

But at least my teeth will blind you for a couple of days!!

Leave a Reply

