Blasted Church!!

Today we were very naughty parents & took the boys out of school so we could go skiing. We were going away anyway this weekend, but when hubby had the day off, post call, it seemed rude not to take the opportunity, and have an extra day. Once again I was left behind, which saddens me greatly, especially when they return tired & full of stories with the bruises to match. Instead, Tess & I walked the Valley trial before pitching up at the hotel to blag an early check-in. It was just my luck that a large conference had just checked out & all the rooms had been occupied the night before. Not only that, but all 5 million of the candidates were camped out in the lobby where I was hoping to vegetate & write while I waited. Normally I would be fine & move onto a coffee shop, but with having the dog I couldn’t go anywhere else. Also, our hotel does pretty good free latte’s, so why would I pay for them?

The receptionist took pity on me & at least found me chair, while promising to have the room ready within a couple of hours, this was at 11.45am. A short while later, while perched on a plastic chair next to a pile of ‘Peak’ magazines, I learn from the group next to me that they are waiting for the bus to pick them up at 3pm – NO WAY! Just when I thought that sitting the car might actually be a more comfortable, quieter option, the large crowd that were hogging a sofa on the other side of the lobby begin to gather their things, they were going for lunch – YAY! I gather up bags, coffee, coat & dog ready to stake my claim on a spot. Fantastic, the entire sofa to myself, a coffee table, & now a quieter lobby, until…

Less than an hour later when they all return! It would appear that I became invisible while sat there. The same crowd that had vacated that spot earlier parked themselves in the exact same spot, & almost on me. Some guy produced a board game & that was that, my bags were trod on, sat on, had coats were piled on them. Then there was my poor dog who was lying quietly at my feet one minute, only to be bombarded with people wanting to pet her. It is also important to mention that the people nearest to me had some personal hygiene issues, don’t these people know that soap & deodorant are very inexpensive essentials. Honestly, we go on about areas being free from cologne because of allergies, why shouldn’t it be the same for body odour? However, I wasn’t giving up that spot. I even had a go at the guy next to me, who was a particularly ripe specimen, about not having respect for my personal space. I claimed that spot after they’d left, therefore it was MINE! He apologized, but did he move, heck no, just turned back to the coffee table & continued playing.

It was almost regular check-in time, 4pm, when I finally got the all clear to go to my room. Wouldn’t you just know it, at the same time the bus arrived to pick up the fermenting conference goers, & by now the lobby was packing them in like sardines in a can. At last, I was leaving. Then, just as I unloaded the last couple of bags from the dolly, my tired & hungry skiers walked out of the elevator. Great, there was cheese & wine set up in the lobby now, we can grab a free glass of Blasted Church on the way to the hot tub, & then everything will be right in the world again… until I discovered that I’d packed everyone else’s swimwear but mine!!

Leave a Reply

