The joys of motherhood

All was well at the end of last week until the early hours of Saturday morning, when my elder woke us after talking to Hughie on the big white telephone. I was already aware of a stomach bug spreading through school; the gathering of Vomiting Veronicas in the school lobby when I picked the boys up on Friday afternoon might have given something away. Luckily for him it was 3 ‘conversations’ and some stomach cramps, then woke up feeling ropey but much better. So it was off to the cinema to see that well-known cuddly British institution, Paddington. I grew up with this loveable character, so I love it that my boys love him too. I can confirm that I sat craning my neck in the front row (not where we would choose to sit but we were late in), laughing, and savouring every mouthful of my favourite British chocolate bar, a Wispa Gold. I tried to make it last, just one mouthful, let it melt, wait a few minutes before another, but it was soooo good, and the pause between mouthfuls got shorter and shorter. Now I only have 7 left until I can replenish supplies in August. Urgent rationing required, only one every month now.

I was doing a bit of a New Year clear out last week, when I came across a women’s magazine that my mother-in-law had left. Not really my thing, recipes, makeovers of 50 year olds, knitting patterns (just for the record I really have nothing against knitting, it just isn’t very me), you know the sort. Well, my first confession is that I actually thumbed it. Then, I stopped at the knitting pattern. Yes, I know, what the… but it was a really nice sweater, very much my style etc.. Here’s the bombshell… I tore it out to keep! Now just before you question my state of mind and stop following me, I just need to be clear why. My lovely mother-in-law is a very good and keen knitter, so what I thought was I would ask HER if she’d knit it for me, no not even teach me because it would be really bad for my neck. So that makes it ok, right?

All right, moving on to hubby and I having a day off together. We have been talking about replacing our wine glasses for sometime as we don’t actually have a full set that match. I guess that’s what happens when you’ve been together nearly 20 years. Of course, Crate & Barrel being an absolute dream to shop in we came away with all sorts of things one doesn’t really need but has to have, like a taco rack!! $500 and 3 sets of 8 wine glasses later we stroll out, very pleased with our purchases. Now, you should know, I am quite clumsy, I have very little idea of personal space and I should NEVER wash glasses by hand, especially when they are brand new. This in mind, I have since popped back to the store to replace the one I broke (she says sheepishly) 2 hours after buying it.

Then, just when I’d thought my younger son had dodged the bug… talk about inconvenient, why can’t everyone be sick together? It always happens when you have plans too. But, thanks to hubby being on an admin day I could still go for my weekly beating at the physio and replenish our food stocks as planned. However, I had seriously bad hair, I neeeeded to make my appointment the following day. Thankfully the boy rallied round and all was right with the world…and my hair.

The joys of motherhood!

Leave a Reply

