I’ve arrived!

www.louiselindley.com.

That’s right, I now have a website. Yet another social media thingy to maintain, and honestly I have no idea what I’m doing with it. So, when my marketing manager arranged a conference call for website coaching I was keen to learn and determined I could do this. However, it was arranged for the morning after I returned on a late night flight from my annual girls’ trip to Las Vegas, which involves 3 days of partying, shopping, more partying and only two hours of Thunder! And approximately the same number of hours of sleep. After killing off several more brain cells from the very few that still exist in my dizzy little head, it very quickly became apparent that website coaching in the Vegas aftermath was not a smart move.

As you know I am technically challenged. An old-fashioned list-writer with a pen and a calendar full of life events hung on the kitchen wall. It is a constant battle between my husband and me. He puts EVERYTHING on his iThings, I put EVERYTHING down on paper. I just find it quicker, easier, and better to keep track of. If it isn’t on the kitchen calendar it isn’t on my radar… period! Perhaps if I used my own iThings for more stuff I would be dragged up to date and be more familiar with using them, but I’m too blonde to retain the information. Now I have the prospect of maintaining a website – me, the person who writes texts in full because I don’t understand the abbreviations!

To be fair to her, my coach was patient and informative, while I sat mesmerized at my computer watching her screen on my screen do all sorts of fancy things with text and images. The fact is that this scenario in itself had me amazed at the technology that is available these days. This is all just another part of my journey, and a steep learning curve that began with a phone call. When I began down this road I had no idea what was involved in publishing a book, but I eventually did. Now, I have to learn what is involved in website maintenance, but we all have to start somewhere and I’m fortunate at least to have had someone who knows what they are doing get me started. I’m not a quick learner, and my brain has been fried by two kids and seven years of partying in Vegas, but like everything else that has been required of me during this process, I’m willing to give it my best shot – and thankfully I do have a very technically-minded husband, whom I expect will roll his eyes so much at me that if the wind changes he’ll stay like that!

Leave a Reply

