Finally!

It has been a long summer, entertaining the kids in-between proof reads and negotiations, but I got there in the end. Honestly, how is it possible that a three-word sentence could cause so much trouble? Well it did! I don’t know whether it just kept getting missed in the revision rounds, or even if it was identified at all at any point as not being aligned, but it certainly stood out in the final proof, when I noticed it was also still in capitals and not lowercase – the quality control check even missed it! When I pointed it out to her, my account manager was surprised it hadn’t been flagged too; she got on the case, and it was finally sorted. Meaning I could finally sign off the proofs to go to print, finally sign off the book cover designs, and finally see the light at the end of the tunnel. If all goes according to plan my book should be available for purchase in a couple of weeks… YIKES!!

 

It couldn’t have worked out any better. Last week was the start of a whole new chapter for me… both my boys are finally in full time school. This week will be my first real week of child freedom; the things I am going to achieve are nobody’s business. I give it three days before I’m running around like a headless chicken, and legging it into school almost late for the pickup! I have promised my husband I will take some time to ‘relax’ each day. I have no idea what it is, this ‘relax’ he speaks of, so if anyone can enlighten me I would appreciate it. What does ‘kids in school’ mean to me really? Well, reduced stress in the grocery store; no childcare worries when I have any of my various appointments; walking the dog without clock watching; the floor will stay clean for two hours after my lovely cleaner has left, instead of two minutes; actually cooking a meal instead of throwing it at the oven or crockpot and hoping that it turns itself into something edible for dinner; and of course, the most important one that all mums miss… peeing in peace!! Yes, nobody knocking on the door and trying to have a conversation with me through it. I can sit on the throne in the peace and quiet of my own home and spend a penny without any interruptions… well for a few hours anyway.

 

Watch this space for the official release date of my debut novel Bruises.

Leave a Reply

