This isn’t about the money…

… this is about me!

I’ve finally got to the stage in my journey where I need to talk about how much to charge for my book and what royalties I hope to gain from it. But honestly, even if I sell one book, to me, it will be an achievement. Just to have the finished product in my hand and be able to say ‘I did this’ will be enough. My disease has taken many things away from me, things I never thought it would get its evil claws into. It is a disease that never gives up; it chips away at your life and everything that is precious until it claims every part of you. It endeavours to bring you down, crush and flatten you both mentally and physically. It rules, controls and dominates every aspect of your life. And it never gives up.

 

The strength I find to face life doesn’t come from what I can do, it comes from overcoming the things that I once thought I couldn’t do. I set out to create something that my disease can never take away from me. I didn’t take it seriously at first, I just went with the idea and let it take me on a journey, destination unknown. I have almost reached a destination. Or at least a landmark. A place where I can stick two fingers up at AS and prove that, despite it knocking me down a few times, showing me things I never wanted to see, leading me to experience deep sadness and feelings of failure… despite these things, I could carry on, fight back, and achieve something I never thought in my wildest dreams would be possible. I will be a published author.

 

Of course, I would love my book to do well; who wouldn’t want that? But if it does, then that’s a bonus – then I won’t have to soften my husband up by putting Jaffa cakes in his lunchbox before I admit to buying not one, but two new dresses! I’m just stocking up so you don’t see me in the same one twice J

 

Watch this space. Bruises will be coming to an online bookstore near you, very, very soon!

Leave a Reply

