What’s in a name?

It was bound to happen at some point. A few days ago somebody who doesn’t know me, but knows I write, asked my name. I hesitated for a second because I realized that I had a choice to make. Because I was in a good mood, I decided to play a game. “Would you like my real name… or my pen name?” This took him by surprise, so I suggested he think about it and let me know. Luckily, he got busy and never gave me his answer. What I really should have done was give him my pen name, of course.

Most of you know me by that pen name, of course: Louise Lindley. I am now two people, with two very different names, two identities and two autographs. So, when faced with this question, what should I do? I guess I’ll have to get used to this double life thing. I’ve already nearly signed my blog replies or comments with my real initials. The closest thing in my life that can be compared to this situation is the fact I am a dual citizen, and therefore I have two passports. However, they are both in the same name, so it doesn’t compare really, I just have to decide which one to use in which country! But, the principle of this still applies and needs consideration. How do people do it? I’m too honest and not a very good liar, so it’s not going to be easy, but then I guess it’s not really lying because I am actually that person, it’s just my business name, right?

Anyway, in a few months’ time my face will be known as Louise Lindley and not… The real me is known by plenty of people who are very excited about my new adventure, and have joked about the fact they knew me before I was famous – ha-ha-ha!! I will always still be me, but when someone I don’t know asks my name I will have a choice to make, do I want to be … the stay at home mum who was once a nurse? Or do I want to be Louise Lindley, the author?

2 thoughts on “What’s in a name?

  1. llindley72 Post author

    Harliqueen you make me smile because I still see this as a ‘bit of fun’, a kind of hobby. When I’ve paid for a new roof & two bathroom renos, then it’s a job!!

    Reply

Leave a comment