Maintaining a sense of humour

Right! Enough about dark holes and all the other gloomy things that control my disease-ridden life. I do, in fact, have a sense of humour that I hope many of you will enjoy one day when you read my books. When I moved to Canada I discovered that a British sense of humour could offend a lot of North Americans, therefore, it took some time for them to ‘get me’. Thankfully, British Columbia has a it’s name for a reason… many who were born here are of British descent, so it didn’t take too long for them to appreciate us Brits and our quick wit.

So how can I find amusement in a crippling, chronic, painful disease?
Well, first you should know that I have been married now for 15 years. Every night since my symptoms began – approximately 5 years ago – there have been three of us in our king sized tempurpedic bed. Initially the third party was unnamed until a family vacation for my 40th birthday – a Disney cruise. Now, let’s just say I can’t sleep with my legs together… yes I know, not surprising for a dirty romance novelist, but true. At least true in the sense that I can’t physically lay on my side with my knees touching, like most people. I have to have a pillow in between them otherwise I can’t actually get out of bed in the morning. Even my closest girlfriends will tell you that one of the last things I say to them before we hit the Vegas strip is ‘promise you’ll both make sure I sleep with a pillow between my knees’ and, bless them, even in their intoxicated state, they make sure I do!

So, may I introduce you to ‘Goofy’ my body pillow, and the third member of our threesome! ‘Why Goofy?’ I hear you say. Well, while on that magical and amazing birthday family vacation, I was fortunate to stumble across the canine himself snuggled up in a corner in his PJs, with a Mickey Mouse stuffy and a blanket in situ. I couldn’t help joining him on the sofa for a snuggle and a picture, and OMG! Did he smell good!! I don’t care what the occupant of that suit looked like, all I could think of, while I was sat very close to him, was ‘what the hell is that scent?’

And from then on, for reasons I still can’t explain, my body pillow has been known as ‘Goofy’. Maybe it’s a coping mechanism, but I’ve noticed I make up fun names quite a lot even for non-disease related stuff, and especially when I write… so watch out for more of them!

One thought on “Maintaining a sense of humour

Leave a Reply

